Melanie Phillips
Melanie Phillips
Speaking to the wider world
0:00
-1:49

Speaking to the wider world

Two interviews with me down under which tackled the big questions

I appeared last week on Inside the News on Sky News Australia, where Rowan Dean and I discussed my argument that deep green environmental ideology was essentially pagan and anti-human. After that, we turned to the no-less enormous question of why the west persistently and catastrophically fails to understand the rest of the world — a topic which had to be dealt with in under two minutes! You can watch Sky’s video clip of the second item here, although you’ll have to battle through some advertising to get to it. Alternatively, you can listen to it by clicking the audio link above.

I was also the guest in an hour-long webinar hosted by Peter Kurti, research scholar at the Centre for Independent Studies in Sydney, on the west’s crisis of reason and its onslaught upon its own culture. I had actually brought together the various strands of this crisis in my 2010 book The World Turned Upside Down: the Global Battle over God, Truth and Power which Peter was kind enough to describe as “prescient” — and we talked about some of the most significant markers along my journey to the view that the west is in big trouble. We also discussed the current epidemic of antisemitism, whether the precipitous decline of reason in the west was now irreversible and, if not, what we could do to turn the situation round. You can watch the webinar here:

Recent posts

My most recent exclusive post for my premium subscribers describes how defenders are finally rising in the war for the west — but are coming from an unexpected quarter. This is how the piece begins:

Melanie Phillips
The new radicals of the counter-culture
A major reason why we are being forced to live through the current lunatic onslaught against the basics of western civilisation and even reason itself is the collapse of conservatism in the west. Conservatism isn’t an ideology but a state of mind which is focused upon upholding…
Read more

And you can read my most recent post that’s available to everyone, about the double standard of antisemitism and Islamophobia, by clicking here.

One more thing…

This is how my website works.

It has two subscription levels: my free service and the premium service.

Anyone can sign up to the free service on this website. You can of course unsubscribe at any time by clicking “unsubscribe” at the foot of each email.

Everyone on the free list will receive the full text of pieces I write for outlets such as the Jewish News Syndicate and the Jewish Chronicle, as well as other posts and links to my broadcasting work.

But why not subscribe to my premium service? For that you’ll also receive pieces that I write specially for my premium subscribers. Those articles will not be published elsewhere. They’ll arrive in your inbox as soon as I have written them.

There is a monthly fee of $6.99 for the premium service, or $70 for an annual subscription. Although the fee is charged in US dollars, you can sign up with any credit card. Just click on the “subscribe now” button below to see the available options for subscribing either to the premium or the free service.

A note on subscriptions

If you purchase a subscription to my site, you will be authorising a payment to my company Dirah Associates. In the past, that is the name that may have appeared on your credit card statement. In future, though, the charge should appear instead as Melanie Phillips.

And thank you for following my work.

Melanie Phillips
Melanie Phillips
Melanie Phillips is a British journalist, author and broadcaster. Her work is essential for all who care about creating a more rational, fair and compassionate world. Follow her journey wherever the evidence leads.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Melanie Phillips