Melanie Phillips
Melanie Phillips
Into the fray
0:00
-46:19

Into the fray

My appearance on Politics Live
How the BBC captioned the Politics Live segment on Israel’s counter-terrorism operation in Jenin

I took part this week in an edition of the BBC TV show Politics Live. My fellow guests were the veteran human rights lawyer Baroness Helena Kennedy, the Conservative peer Lord Bethell and the libertarian Spiked writer Ella Whelan. We discussed the NHS, Israel’s operation in Jenin, the British government’s bill banning Israel boycotts, and drug-testing at raves. You can listen to the audio of the show at the link above. The segment on Jenin starts at around 29 mins into the audio recording. Those who can access the BBC website can watch the show here.

Recent posts

My most recent exclusive post for my premium subscribers argue that conservatives must reclaim the hijacked language that is driving the culture off the cliff. This is how the piece begins:

The hijack of language

MELANIE PHILLIPS

·

30 JUN

The hijack of language

The Conservative Party in Britain is in trouble. Many natural conservatives have written it off as rudderless, leaderless and useless. Tory MPs are forming silos of attitudes that they believe define conservatism but which cancel each other out in a welter of recrimination, panic and closed minds.

Read full story

And you can read my most recent post that’s available to everyone, arguing that it’s time to dismantle the United Nations, by clicking here.

One more thing…

This is how my email posts work.

There are two subscription levels: my free service and my premium service.

Anyone can sign up to the free service on this website. You can of course unsubscribe at any time by clicking “unsubscribe” at the foot of each email.

Everyone on the free list will receive the full text of pieces I write for outlets such as the Jewish News Syndicate and the Jewish Chronicle, as well as other posts and links to my broadcasting and video work.

But why not subscribe to my premium service? For that you’ll also receive pieces that I write specially for my premium subscribers. Those articles will not be published elsewhere. They’ll arrive in your inbox as soon as I have written them.

There is a monthly fee of $6.99 for the premium service, or $70 for an annual subscription. Although the fee is charged in US dollars, you can sign up with any credit card. Just click on the “subscribe now” button below to see the available options for subscribing either to the premium or the free service.

And you can always access the links to all my work by visiting my website at melaniephillips.substack.com .

A note on subscriptions

If you purchase a subscription to my site, you will be authorising a payment to my company Dirah Associates. In the past, that is the name that may have appeared on your credit card statement. In future, though, the charge should appear instead as Melanie Phillips.

And thank you for following my work.

Melanie Phillips
Melanie Phillips
Melanie Phillips is a British journalist, author and broadcaster. Her work is essential for all who care about creating a more rational, fair and compassionate world. Follow her journey wherever the evidence leads.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Melanie Phillips